lucky designs hosted image

Current & Archives & Profile
G-book & E-mail & Notes & Image
Designer & Host

2003-01-04 & 9:30 p.m.

NEW MOON


I went to a New Moon ritual a couple of days ago. My friend B took me. She had met a woman through "A Course in Miracles" (I have no idea what that is, just know it's a spiritual class). It was a potluck and then after about an hour it was time to go to the meditation room. The circle was cast and we waited outside the circle to have a woman put oil on our foreheads, kiss us, and then another woman center and cleanse us (kind of like smudging, only with a tuner, as in a musical type bell that when you hit it, it rings the note "A"). We sat within the cirlce and the two women entering us into the circle read a couple of stories and talked. Then we passed around a mirror to look at ourselves and told the group what we saw. That was hard. I looked for a while, totally speechless. I looked for a longer while and the first thing that came to mind was "I see my grandma!" When I said it, I felt as if I were speaking in a three year old's voice. After that exercise was done, we had to talk about a picture we had brought of ourselves. My picture was taken of me at Gasworks Park, on top of the sun dial (was looking for really good pics of the sundial and couldn't find any. It's the most important part to me).

Now the next part isn't about SEX, but keep an open mind anyway. Near the end of this ritual, we were all to pour a little milk into cups. Then we could either stick our finger with an Athame and let blood into the cup, or use pomegranite juice to symbolize blood. I couldn't stick myself, so I used the juice. There was a song sung while everyone was preparing their cups. To my surprise, B poked herself with the athame. After this, we said something I can't remember, took a sip of our cups, then poured the rest into a cauldron, broke the circle, then went into the torrent of rain and poured the contents of the cauldren around a tree outside.

B's husband was not thrilled by her going to the new moon ritual. He's christian, as she was once very fundamental christian. I said "So B, you gonna tell Husband you cut youself? This sent her into a fit of laughter and she said no way. Her reason was a little different than I thought it was going to be. I think she is a little fearful of his reaction, but she also said that he doesn't tell her anything that goes on in his men's group, why should she tell him what happened at this gathering?

I asked her how long J (a friend of hers) had been married. She said 14 years, the same as her and it was a LONG time to be married. She said that she was longing for some new flesh. She said that her biggest lesson to learn in life was probably going to be commitment.

On New Year's eve I got to know B a lot better. In the span of three years in her very early twenties, she went through the beginnings of manic depression, living with people, a lesbian relationship for a year, then christianity. She's had a full life. She had told me that the only guy that turned her down was a christian guy before she went through her lesbian relationship. They were making out and she took it to the next step by grabbing his dick and he stopped it saying he didn't believe in sex before marriage. She was shocked. She said she had slept with upwards of 50 men and here was the first guy who turned her down.

Anyway, blah blah.



previous & next